Trial and error, and error….

One note before I start writing about what I want to write about… I have been driving a car for close to 15 years. Most of the cars I’ve driven in my life are manual transmissions. I’ve owned something in the ballpark of 10 cars, 2 have been automatics and I hated them.

Now that little piece of info is out of the way… I cannot for the life of me figure out the clutch on this damn scooter. There, I said it. All shame aside, I’m seriously having a hard time getting it. Granted… in my defense, I’ve logged about 1 mile on the V so far, purely by accident, I’m sure… that, or a stroke incredible luck. Either way, I’ve gone about 10 houses away from ours and there’s an inordinate amount of stalling involved with even that.

I think part of my problem is that a) I’ve not had nearly as much time on it as I’d like, work and school have a way of cramping my style, for sure. But also b) I’m still kind of afraid that I’m going to break it. I am of the “gentle is best” mindset when it comes to doing things I’m new at… nevertheless, this whole process takes me back to the glory days when my high school boyfriend tried to teach me to drive his manual transmission pickup truck. Yeah, he gave up after the 10-20th stall out in a fit of rage. I ended up having to “borrow” my mom’s car with a friend when mom was out of town to teach myself. Sorry mom. I swear I didn’t break it.

Now, I’m an adult and faced with this experience of learning to drive all over again. It’s not fun, I have to say. Once I can get going in 1st gear, WOW, it’s everything I want the experience to be. It’s fun, and exciting…. but if I have to stop for any reason, like, I don’t know… another car, I’m sorta screwed. I know it’s going to take time. I know that Vespas, especially old ones, are very difficult to learn for a BRAND new rider… but come on. It’s quite frustrating.

This is something that I’ve wanted for as long as I can remember, so I’m going to keep at it. But for the love of all that’s good, I wish that I could just figure it out without all the fits and starts.

In other news about the V, after the first ride (today was my second) as it was idling in front of the house, the nut that’s supposed to be attached to the front shock just fell out. Yup. Nobody was even near it. That’s a little nerve wracking. But we got it tightened back up and there doesn’t seem to be any problems now with it. We’ve got to tinker with the timing or fuel/oil mixture too. It’s been running a little rough today. It could be something else… who knows. Here I thought after months of waiting, it’d be all set to go for a while. Nope. Tinker we must.

All in all, this is quite the learning experience. Not only am I learning how to ride a two-wheeled machine that’s not a bicycle, I’m having to overcome doubts and fears that I’ve had a long time in addition to a new form of mechanics. I can work on cars, no problem. But cycles are all kinds of foreign. Hooray for adventures! It’s scary and exciting all at the same time. I’m really just looking forward to being able to ride places, not just our street. THAT will be awesome.

Anyway, thanks for reading!

About wendemachete

wend E machete is a "stage" name/ pen name for me, Sandra McKee, an aspiring writer and recent college graduate. I'm an active, non-traditional, bleeding heart liberal, mother, and devoted wife. I'm also an ethical vegan and scooter enthusiast. Open sharing of information and creative resistance of authority are my mantra. Question everything. Think for yourself. Live a life of loving kindness and compassion towards others. We are all connected. United. View all posts by wendemachete

2 responses to “Trial and error, and error….

  • Charles

    I just found your blog. Do you still have the vespa? Are you proficient at using the clutch? I recently purchased a VERY similar one from the Urban Commuter prior to it’s closing.

    • wendemachete

      Urban Commuter closed? That’s too bad. But yes, I’ve had some trouble with the clutch, though I chalk it up to beginner’s error. I’ve had more engine/ starting problems than anything.

      Do tell us about your scoot…

Leave a Reply

