Ahh the clutch….

So, I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted about my “learning” process. There are a few reasons at hand, but until today, it’s literally and figuratively, stalled.

My V has been in the same exact spot it’s been in for 3 weeks now because a) I’ve been pretty busy and there were a few unexpected days of rain in AZ …. b) FRUSTRATION with my ability to learn to ride such a finicky beast and c) I’m just really tired of stalling 100 times and then having a bitch of a time getting it started again (more on that later).

Today, I had time and sunshine so it was on the agenda to take her out. Thanks to my scooter gang partner, taking her apart to find out what the freaking problem is with the kick start… It turned out that the ignition is not the original one and has an automatic kill switch inside that I wasn’t aware of, therefore preventing the bike from getting spark if the key isn’t in the correct position, and also taking her down the block to find out the clutch “issue”. So hats off to neotrotsky for hooking up the secret trick to getting the V going.

I’m not only no longer afraid of the scooter, but I’m also pretty damn confident that with this nugget of information, I’ve also got her number. Take that, clutch! HA HA!

Anyway, here’s the shameless plug: Check out out new YouTube channel. This page is not only documenting my journey as a brand new rider, but it’ll also have rallies, like our cross country trip to Amerivespa next summer. So, we hope you enjoy our silliness and our future adventures.

Until next time!

~wend E

About wendemachete

wend E machete is a "stage" name/ pen name for me, Sandra McKee, an aspiring writer and recent college graduate. I'm an active, non-traditional, bleeding heart liberal, mother, and devoted wife. I'm also an ethical vegan and scooter enthusiast. Open sharing of information and creative resistance of authority are my mantra. Question everything. Think for yourself. Live a life of loving kindness and compassion towards others. We are all connected. United. View all posts by wendemachete

2 responses to “Ahh the clutch….

  • neotrotsky

    I knew you could do it!! Just a little adjustment and the bike will be a breeze to ride. As for the YouTube channel, keep watching for some REAL development starting around the first as we start to document the process of planning and executing a cross-country, 4,000 mile trip across the US to Amerivespa ’12. And, this isn’t going to be some boring collection of ride vids… Oh no! This will be how two riders, one experienced with decades on two wheels and one new to the sport, handle an epic trip that most people think we’re on crack for trying.

  • wendemachete

    You mean to tell me, we AREN’T on crack for trying it? I cannot tell you or the world how exciting this trip is. I am so happy for some serious adventure. It’s been a long time and THIS is going to be one of the most challenging and kick ass ways to be adventurous.

    But thanks for your help with mechanical things as well as the conceptual. I really needed a tutorial. Yeee! I can’t wait to break out the bike again later!

Leave a Reply

