2012: Off with a fighting chance, and a wheezing bike…

Well, I know there hasn’t been much activity on the ol’ club page here.  That’s because there’s been a bit of a snag:

None of the bikes of the whole two riders on here are legal. 

The biggest downfall is honestly, myself.  I bought a bike which I was TOLD was in perfect nick, and from the few hundred miles I was able to log on it, it seems *ok*.  Turns out… not so much.  After taking the head off the engine to see what was what during a carb rebuild by a local shop, my concerns were confirmed:  The piston and cylinder are shot!  This means that the bike does NOT have “less than 4k miles” on it like the previous owner said.  Then again, one must assume every Craigslist seller lies.  This is the one mantra I have for everyone buying a bike.  But, I should’ve adhered to my own words better.

But, the chassis is still fine, and it’s hardly dead.  But, with grant money being tight it won’t be until next month until we’re back on the road proper.  But, I promise that this rebuild will be well documented, especially this will be the first time I will have rebuilt a top-end on a P2o0e!  Also, new suspension, rubber and some bearing work will also be top on the agenda.

Others of us have been put off by a poorly timed car accident totaling the “cage” of another one of our riders, and her now consuming drive to find a new set of wheels in order to get her scoot legal and on the road as well.  2011 just fought us all the way down, and that’s all I’m going to say about it.

Sadly this also means that Amerivespa is in question for us.  With the costs of replacements, it will be difficult at best.  But, only time will tell

So, once again, hang in there kids!  I know, that line starts to sound like a broken record but there will be a solution. Trust me, you’ll dig it.

About neotrotsky

A Technical Director at a somewhat-sorta-prestigious live performance studio, audio engineer and secondary engineering student (the second time around) by day. But, by night I am a daring (if not slightly melancholy) motorscooter enthusiast and gearhead searching for a garage and steady paycheck. View all posts by neotrotsky

Leave a Reply

